New President & Vice President appointments at Birmingham & Solihull RFC

Birmingham & Solihull Rugby Football Club have confirmed the appointment of a new President and eleven new Vice Presidents.

Mike Norman, a long serving and highly respected figure at the club, will take on the role of President, succeeding Mike Brennan who stepped down at the end of the 2018/19 season.

A former player for Birmingham Rugby Club between 1966 and 1976, Mike is well known and highly regarded throughout the club and has been Chairman of the ‘Dirt Trackers’ and a Vice President since 2015. He also was Mike Brennan’s deputy in recent seasons.

Former B&SRC Chairman Chris Loughran, who is already an Honorary Life Member, is one of eleven additional Vice Presidents who will be supporting new the President. He is joined by Darren Court, Terry Dickson, Terry Dight, Ian Edwards, Louise Ford, Rona Higgins, Michael Jinks, Dai Phillips, Brian Marshall and Alan Morden.

The newly appointed Vice Presidents will join existing VPs Bill Harris, Bill Smith and Nigel Bell, bringing much valued experience, knowledge and commitment to the Members’ organisation now in place at Birmingham & Solihull Rugby Football Club.

Former President Mike Brennan, who is now enjoying a somewhat quieter life in Devon, has been awarded Honorary Life Membership.

Commenting on the announcement, new Club President Mike Norman said, “It is a great honour to be asked to take on the role of President at Birmingham & Solihull Rugby Football Club. It is a club with a proud heritage, now operating with a Membership constitution on a fully amateur basis. The substantial progress made on and off the field to date this season shows the commitment and desire to build for the future.

“I am delighted to welcome all the new Vice Presidents into the fold – individually each has made a huge contribution to the club and recognition of their unstinting service is much deserved. Their support and counsel will be invaluable as the club continues to move forward. I am also thrilled that my predecessor Mike Brennan’s contribution as President during his four-year tenure has also been acknowledged.

He concluded, “I am looking forward to working with the four Directors of the Club – Lou Lupoli, Pete Carr, Jeremy Smith and Richard Smith – who, along with Tim Bennett, form the main committee, as we continue our unique rugby journey.”